After thoughts

What does it mean to be mindful?

Being mindful is really important when working with children. Being mindful in a classroom helps a teacher observe and notice things better. To be mindful in my life right now would also be beneficial to my overall wellbeing. I think it can be easy to live in the past or worry about the future a lot, but its is good every now and then to forget all of that for a couple minutes and notice what is going in the world around you at that very moment.
I think children are already better at us at being mindful frequently. They are very good at living in the moment and experiencing and discovering everything around them constantly. It is a good experience for a teacher to learn from the students in this way. Practicing this can lead to less depression and anxiety, which is important for both adults and children. It helps the brain kind of have a reset for the day and start over with a present observation of what is happening around them.
I think it could be very beneficial to use inside my future classroom. It can help the children’s brains relax and practice focus. Like I said before, it is a good reset for the teacher and the children to reset their minds and refocus into what we are proceeding with afterwards. It is a good strategy for any period of life to practice. Personally, I react quickly in anger to a lot things and regret it soon after. Practicing mindfulness after a stressful event can help me think about what just happened in a clear head space and more responsibility.

Leave a comment